Worldwide Wings for Life Run

Worldwide Wings for Life Run

What do you think about competing against runners in Florida, Chile, Barcelona, Argentina, India or Lima, all in real time on the same day? Join the Wings for Life run for experiencing this amazing event.

Wings for Life Run
The Wings for Life run is carried out on 3rd May in 35 different countries all over the world simultaneously, at exactly the same time.

The Wings for Life run is carried out on 3rd May in 35 different countries all over the world simultaneously, at exactly the same time. The race starts at 4am in California, 8am in Brazil, 12pm in the UK, 4.30pm in India, 7pm in Taiwan and 9pm in Australia. The goal is simple. Thirty minutes after the starting pistol fires, ‘catcher cars’ drive off at 15kph to catch the runners, they soon speed up until they have overtaken all the runners.

The distance is not set: the last male and female runner that is caught by the catcher cars are awarded the title of global Wings for Life World Run champions. In 2014, 35,397 competitors took part all around the world. Among male athletes, the Ethiopian runner Lemawork Ketema won the race, having run 48.83 miles (78.58km) before he was caught by the chaser car. Among female runners, the Norwegian Elise Molvik was crowned champion with a distance of 34 miles (54.8km).

All the money collected goes to the Wings for Life foundation, whose objective is to raise awareness and money to find a cure for spinal cord injury.

For more information visit wingsforlifeworldrun.com.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Written by Jenny Nickelson

Jenny Nickelson has been a sports enthusiast since childhood. Because of her deep love to water, she started training swimming in early years. Today she swears on variety and does it all: from swimming, running and cycling to fitness, skiing, dancing and mountaineering.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

Comments

comments

BEALACH NA BA

UK’s Top Road Rides: Bealach na Bà

ETAPE CYMRU

UK’s Top Road Rides: Etape Cymru